The organ works of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (1892-1988)

Bowyer, Kevin (2016) The organ works of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (1892-1988). PhD thesis, University of Glasgow.

Due to Embargo and/or Third Party Copyright restrictions, this thesis is not available in this service.
Printed Thesis Information:


This is the first complete critical edition of the organ works of Kaikhosru Shapurji Sorabji (1892--‐1988). Of the three solo symphonies presented here only the first has previously appeared in print (Curwen, 1925). The other two works, both of hugely greater dimensions than the first, have not been published before although, in the late 1980s/early 90s, the present writer produced a hand‐copied edition of the second symphony that has been available in print form and in PDF through the Sorabji Archive since 1991.

Item Type: Thesis (PhD)
Qualification Level: Doctoral
Additional Information: Due to copyright restrictions the full text of this thesis cannot be made available online. Access to the printed version is available.
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Colleges/Schools: College of Arts & Humanities > School of Culture and Creative Arts > Music
Supervisor's Name: Butt, Prof. John
Date of Award: 2016
Depositing User: Mrs Marie Cairney
Unique ID: glathesis:2016-7393
Copyright: Copyright of this thesis is held by the author.
Date Deposited: 17 Jun 2016 10:34
Last Modified: 12 Apr 2024 11:58
Thesis DOI: 10.5525/gla.thesis.7393

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Downloads per month over past year